2016-2017 Academic Calendar

Saturday, Sep.3

Student Leaders and International Students arrive

 Sunday, Sep. 4 Opening Day: Student Registration
(All Students) - 10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Student Orientation begins following registration
 Monday, Sep. 5 Student Orientation
  Tuesday, Sep. 6Classes and First Marking Period begins
 Thur. eve. - Sat., Oct. 6 - 8 Parents' Weekend
Monday, Oct. 10
No classes; all students must return to school by 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 11 
Classes resume
 Friday, Oct. 21 First Marking Period Ends; Second Marking Period begins Oct. 24
 Friday, Nov.18 Thanksgiving Break - Begins at 7:30 a.m.
 Monday, Nov. 28 Students must return by 7:00 p.m.
 Friday, Dec. 9
Second Marking Period Ends; Third Marking Period begins Jan. 3
 Sun. - Wed., Dec. 11 - 14 First Semester Exams - Closed Weekend
 Thursday, Dec. 15
Holiday Break: Begins at 7:30 a.m.
 Monday, Jan. 2, 2017
Students must return to school by 7:00 p.m.
 Tuesday, Jan. 3
Classes resume
Fri. eve. - Mon., Jan. 13 - 16
Northwood Invitational Tournament
Monday, Jan. 16 No classes; classes resume Tuesday, Jan. 17
Friday, Feb. 17
Winter Break - Begins at 7:30 a.m.
Sunday, Feb. 26
Students must return by 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday, March 8
Third Marking Period ends; Fourth Marking Period begins March 9
Friday, March 31
Spring Break: Begins at 7:30 a.m.
Monday, April 17
Students must return by 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, April 18 Classes resume
Friday, May 12 Senior Class Dinner
Saturday, May 13 Commencement Exercises - Closed Weekend
Mon. - Fri., May 15 - 19
Spring Program
Friday, May 26 Fourth Marking Period Ends
Mon. - Wed., May 29 - 31
Final Exams For Underclassmen
Thursday, June 1
Summer Recess Begins 7:30 a.m.

Important message for parents:


Faculty and staff are “on duty” only during school hours, and not during vacation periods. Therefore, students are not allowed to either remain on campus during a break nor return to campus prior to School’s re-convening after a break. Please do not ask for special arrangements to be made in this regard.

Class time and other school appointments are the foundation of what goes on in school. Yearly schedules are published well enough in advance so that the school expects all students and their families to adhere to our departure and return times. If, however, you cannot avoid early departure or late return, you must make arrangements with the Dean of Students in advance of your departure. Should you elect to miss a school appointment, or because you place a higher priority on other events, then you have chosen to accept the result of that decision.

Under normal circumstances, such permissible absences are for family emergencies or religious reasons. Students not excused for these reasons will work one hour in the service of the school for every class missed and WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO MAKE UP ACADEMIC WORK due to such an absence. The school will not direct faculty to make up work or give alternative opportunities to complete tests or assignments..

92 Northwood Rd
Lake Placid, NY 12946
518.523.3357
admissions@northwoodschool.com
92 Northwood Rd
Lake Placid, NY 12946
518.523.3357
admissions@northwoodschool.com